Long before I promised you I’d write more often, I promised myself I would begin the hunt in earnest for my next job Feb. 1. I have been working on my resume for a couple of months in an effort to get it “just right” but in order to meet my own deadline I need to wrap it up and call it a good start.

I’m struggling.
I can’t seem to shake this technical writer’s block.

Here’s why:

All my life, my parents have modeled a strong work ethic. I often hear about this signature trait that comes out of the Midwest and I’ve experienced it to be true. It makes sense to me. I remember wanting to make a few extra dollars in the springtime in sixth grade so I volunteered to pick rocks from the fields in Minnesota (yes, it may sound primitive but it is necessary). I think I made $4/hour. I remember the sweat equity that earned those dollars…

As I grew, I learned the value of developing friendships and I knew that the meaningful ones weren’t made overnight. Rather than make friends and leave them I worked during the many summers we spent in Alaska. At 12 and 13, I babysat but my first “real job” was at 14. I was a dishwasher in Fairbanks. Soon after, I learned about coffee and became a barista at the Cookie Jar Cafe. With each job I had a new goal for what to do with the money. At 12, I wanted a bike. At 14, a computer. Then, I started dreaming about my first car then about college so I worked hard to turn those goals into a reality.

In college at UAA, Nancy Killoran, one of my favorite professors, said she saw my potential in public relations and she encouraged me to volunteer for Special Olympics World Games. It was the second largest sporting event in the world, she said. It was a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity, she continued. The experience I gained would be invaluable. She sold me and I volunteered. Soon after, I was hired and I worked in the public relations department until the completion of the event. It was the first time I realized how much fun I could have working. The event truly did change my life. Nancy was right, it was a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

After Games ended, I was back on the job hunt. Kathy Day, a former manager encouraged me to apply at the Anchorage Chamber of Commerce. I became their communications director and just 10-months later, was announced its next President.

What little girl grows up dreaming of working for Special Olympics?
Who dreams of being a president of a chamber of commerce someday?

Certainly not me but life happened and I have had some of the most remarkable and rewarding jobs I could have ever imagined. I have been surrounded by some of the most talented, and committed and passionate people.

My answer for “what comes next?” may not be conventional because my experiences have helped me to set the bar high. I’ll know it when I see it and I’ll share more with you next week. In the meantime, have you asked yourself, what kind of job makes you happy? If you were out looking and you could do anything you wanted to, what would you do and why?

And…in the event you think you have that next perfect opportunity in mind, check out or forward my VisualCV. I appreciate it.