Sheila & Erin

Sheila & Erin

Who among us doesn’t strive for balance in our lives? Competing interests like wrapping things up at work, finalizing the three papers I have due and studying for my last final before Dec. graduation, taking time to enjoy the day with Brad, talking to my sister in Scotland, brother in who-knows-where, parents in Hawaii, grandparents in Minnesota, and my friends all over the world means I simply never have enough time to give to everything and everybody – including myself.

Yesterday afternoon I took my staff to lunch and the new Bond movie to celebrate two office anniversaries – one employee has been with me four years, and the other, one year. Afterward I met Sheila at Romano’s for a couple of glasses of wine. My staff and I reminisced about favorite moments at work, and we laughed a lot. Sheila and I swapped stories from our childhood for almost 3 1/2 hours. It dawned on me that there is a lot I didn’t know about her, and we have been friends for almost five years. In many ways, I told her, we are kindred spirits, growing up with more commonalities than I could have ever imagined.

Thursday, we will celebrate Thanksgiving. As I reflect upon the last week and even the last day, I consider all of the things I did not get done but I am so thankful for having made time for people close to me. Perfect balance? I am content with never achieving it fully but I will continue to try to get there. In the meantime, I am happy for all of the hours, minutes and moments that comprise my life, and the people who enhance it.