Last month, after almost seven years of service to the Anchorage Chamber of Commerce, I submitted my resignation to our board of directors.  The letter speaks for itself.  It follows:

Dear Anchorage Chamber Members:

Since January 2002, I have had the honor and privilege of serving this terrific organization. In February of 2003, I was named your president. I have been so blessed to have an amazing group of people who have supported me and given me the tools to succeed from the very beginning.

After nearly seven years, I have made the decision to move forward. I will graduate in December from APU with my MBA and am looking ahead to visiting my sister and her husband in Scotland for an extended vacation before re-entering the workforce. As a result of this decision, I presented my letter of resignation to our executive committee last Thursday. I impressed upon them how thankful I am for their leadership and that I am fully committed to staying onboard through the transition to a new president. In fact, with their continued support and that of the board of directors. I will work through the successful execution of our second annual Back to Business Conference and Tradeshow on Jan. 16, and on through March 1, 2009 if necessary.

During my tenure at the Anchorage Chamber, I am proud to point to some accomplishments that have strengthened our role in the business community and provided greater value to our membership, including:

 

The U.S. Chamber of Commerce has honored us with its Four Star accreditation; we are the only chamber in the state to be so distinguished.

We have carefully evaluated our events and programs, worked to enhance each, and experienced increased participation and attendance both by members and volunteers.

We successfully moved from the former 5th Avenue office to our new 6th Avenue and K Street suite. The new space reflects today.s Anchorage Chamber: A modern organization designed to protect and promote the interests of business.

We have exceeded our budget goals every year.

I am confident that the Anchorage Chamber of Commerce is stronger today than it was seven years ago. We have superb staff members who are committed to you. Our board of directors works courageously and tirelessly to improve Alaska.s business climate. Hundreds of members volunteer their time each year to improve our programs and our community. I am honored to have worked with you to build this organization and to enhance the state of our business community. I look forward to remaining in touch.  As always, please call anytime at 677-7109, or e-mail president@anchoragechamber.org.

Sincerely,

Stacy Schubert, IOM

Since my announcement, I have been so overwhelmed with well wishes from members, staff and the community alike.  With public relations as my background, I have had an interest in how the web has transformed the way we communicate.  This is my first attempt at a personal blog, and I hope to post weekly to keep you informed as I turn the pages to the next chapters in life.

